Dante Pastrana vs. The World – A Jay Isip Story

During the cloudy times of my past where I was abusing alcohol and prescription drugs, there were several moments I do not recall nor even care about. I was reckless, ruthless, and dangerous to both society and myself. My demonic thoughts and actions could have cost a life, even my life. However, in some weird way, the world was always on my side and let me get away with the most disgusting, inconsiderate, harmful, and devaluing actions. I will not get into details, but I truly know the actions I have done in my past would put me in hell –but in all honesty, I guess I was living in hell already.

www.10StacksToSuccess.com

demonic mind

Winter 2001:

One morning after an all-night drinking/drug bender, I decided to drive to “school”. Clearly still intoxicated, I was driving up Belleville Avenue while blasting my N’SYNC – Circus CD (yeah real tough guy huh?) in my 1993 Honda Civic. Even though the drive to school was short, I felt a sudden urge to step on the gas pedal. Suddenly, as I am cruising up the street in a daze deeper than a fat kid looking through a sneeze-guarded glass of stuffed cupcakes…BAM!! (in the best Emeril Lagasse voice) I wake up to my head against the cracked windshield . I had my “Eyes Wide Shut” and I quickly touch my face to feel a trickle of blood on my finger and realized what had just occurred. I quickly pull down the driver side mirror to see my invisible reflection and, just as I figured, the mirror was empty…just like my soul. I hop out of the car screaming as if Godzilla had just entered town to see a three-car pileup. I began breathing fire into the air to bluff the other drivers to stay in their car. I believe some people were hurt, but the insurance covers that so I didn’t care nor did I care to want to share my insurance information. My first instinct was to drive away however I soon realized my car was squished like Steve Urkel’s accordion. Coincidentally, one of the cars involved in the accident happened to be my teenage graffiti buddy, Dante Pastrana, who was part of a little “gang” we created circa 1996 called NGK (Notorious Graffiti Kings). Since we were old pals we had a mutual respect for one another and decided to take care of the damage on our own terms and in a way that was beneficial for us both. He drove away without a problem and I attempted to run away but it was no use because the cops had already arrived. Long story short, in some weird way again, the world somehow let me get away with driving while intoxicated and creating a three-car pileup that injured people at a highly trafficked intersection!! How? No idea.

A week later, Dante and his father ring my doorbell. They began to discuss details of the accident but I could do nothing but stare at their mouth and could hear no words because I was obviously drunk. I felt like I was talking to Snoopy from Charlie Brown. After they were done “waaa wawaaaa waaa’ing”, I firmly neglected the fact that I was present at the accident and had no idea what they were talking about. Things didn’t go over so smooth at that time but I didn’t care. Yeah, what a d!$%head move by me.

My Realization:

I’ve realized that I have done plenty of terrible things in my life and the accumulation of menace activities are countless. I know that it probably would take a lifetime and a half to make up for all the things I have done, but in 2007 I decided I would spend the rest of my life trying to change for the positive. I decided I need to make a difference in myself and others, to try to help enhance other people and live the positive lifestyle they deserve, and to uplift everyone’s spirits, including my own, to live to in abundance, positivity, and happiness. I decided I would help myself change so that everyone around me could also change for the better and to serve a purpose in the world by helping myself. In return, others would serve their purpose. Mine, theirs, and our purpose, as people, is to just F$%&ING LIVE!

www.10StacksToSuccess.com

a0203-000017

Summer 2014:

14 years later (yes I skipped about a decade and change but we could be here forever) I decided to write a book. As I began writing this book, the strangest things began to happen. Before, I would feel lucky that the world somehow wanted to work with me , but now, I felt as if the world was responding to my emotions on purpose. I felt more in touch with myself than ever. I became extremely intuitive with my surroundings to the point where my subconscious thoughts became things at an instant. After many, many years of practice, my brain finally accepted the “Law of Attraction” and freaky things would happen so often that it just became “normal”. As I began to enhance this intuitive skill and energy level, I began to take advantage of situations that would create positive and uplifting moments. One day, my brother (Pete Isip, www.peteisip.com) began to discuss one of the chapters in my book: Money. We discussed the evils and enhancements money can bring in and bring out. How it could enhance your life and others as well as diminish your value in the world. I explained to him that “There is no good or bad money, there’s just money. It is what you do with your money, after its earned, that determines if it is good or evil. When the money is in your hands, do you enhance yourself for the positive or do you live in gluttony? Do we use it to help others live better or do we use it to poison ourselves and others. Do we use it through love or lust? Who have we helped with it? How have we helped ourselves? It’s what we do with the money after we achieved the financial goal which make it good or bad…”

blood-moneywww.10StacksToSuccess.com

Shortly after our discussion, I subconsciously go on Facebook and begin to scroll through like a zombie. I then see on the “newsfeed” a post by Phase Izdaname: “Please help Dante Pastrance with his Alternative Cancer Treatment”. I curiously click on the GoFundMe link and read Dante’s story. The feeling was indescribable. I felt as if the spiritual connection I had with myself and the world just expanded to Dante and his world. Now, up until that moment I had not talked to him since 2001 due to the terms we left on. I may have seen him once or twice but we never spoke. Directly after reading his story, a light bulb went off in my mind, “After money is earned, who have we helped?” As per my conversation with my brother, I looked up into the sky and said to myself, “The world is testing me to practice what I preach!” Without hesitation, I donated to help Dante with his alternative treatment. Aside from the fact that I completely agree with alternative and natural healing treatment, I truly believed this was my chance to do something positive and enhance the life of another (In all honesty I would rather help those who I personally know than donate to some bullsh!t foundation who takes a percentage.) Once I clicked the “donate” button, I felt vibrations of happiness run through my veins like a dog sticking his head out of the car window. This was not just pure happiness and pure energy, it was something special.

Seven minutes later, I received an email notification from Dante Pastrana’s GoFundMe account:

Dante 1

His message brought tears of joy to my eyes and fell down my face like the Niagra Falls. I have never experienced an emotion to sting me so hard from such a simple task. It was an incredible and powerful moment and the story would only get better.

Later that evening, I went on my first date with my current girlfriend, Alyssa, to the Meadowlands fair. The entire day I was in such awe and happiness and felt an intense energy of positivity flowing freely through me. Now, while this was my first date with Alyssa, it was also my attempt at facing one of my fears, carnival rides. Yes, I am 32-years old and still scared sh!t of carnival rides, go ahead and judge me. We went on every twisting, turning, and falling ride to the point where I was puking after each and every single one. The fear was over and I felt like a million bucks even though there were shish-kabob particles resting on my chin. Nothing could stop me. I walked up to the basketball stand and SWISH! My first shot and I won Alyssa a large stuffed Karate Gumby. Next stand, POP! I popped all the balloons with one dart and win myself a Money Monkey. It was turning into a grand old time.

Shortly after, we had to the bathroom. I urinate, shake, and wash my face. I could finally see my reflection. I stared deeply into my reflections eyes and proudly responded, “Yes, I AM here.” I floated out of the bathroom in high spirits and tipped the attendant a nice, crisp $20. Naturally, Alyssa looked at me like I had five heads so I explained to her my views on “good money and bad money” and the discussion I had with my brother. I decided to then share with her my story with Dante and how it made me feel inside to do something so pure and genuine. I somehow found the words to share the indescribable feeling of helping someone to live another day. As I am telling her the details, I felt a hand grab my should with an array elegance. I turn around and guess who….yes…it was DANTE PASTRANA! I immediately jumped in for a hug and began to cry again with pure happiness. I was speechless, in pure essence of what living life was about. It was an uplifitin spiritual connection that only the actual feeling could describe. This was bliss. (So by the way, the “Law of Attraction” is not a joke, but it takes years of practice.)

10415675_10203280008873781_4314666967806144790_n

At that moment, I realized what my purpose in the world was, and what I believe is our purpose as people: To help each other grow. To help one another enhance the lifestyle we wish to have. To live another day and breathe the fresh oxygen this earth produces. To enjoy each present moment and to always be grateful of what we have in front of us. We are here to live to the best of our ability and help others live to their best as well. I now know my purpose in life, and part of my purpose is to help Dante Pastrana live each day in happiness.

Dante 2

To Dante: I got your back my brother, I will do everything in my power to enhance your life. The world is yours.

Tuesday, November 4, 2014:

Unfortunately, things did not pan out the way as planned. I can’t even make this up:

This story was the chosen story for my blog today and just as I finished writing, I received a phone call from Dante’s sister, Yasmila, to tell me he is physically no longer with us. Yes, this just happened.

The importance is that even though he is no longer with us physically, Dante is still here in spirit. We shared a special connection together and the time spent with him was further enhancing for oneself than any other moment I have encountered in life. He is the reason for what makes me inspired to live life. Every time I saw him, he was always smiling and enjoyed life beyond its expectation, despite the circumstances he was under. Despite what the world had put in front of him, Dante still enjoyed the journey. He is the reason why we, as human beings, should all love one another regardless of the scenario. He is the reason why we should ALL help each other grow, flow, and uplift our spirits together as people so that we may enhance the life the world has given us. We must ALL work together in positive spirits in order to live, laugh, and love as people.

We seem to have been spoiled with the “things” in life has to offer, and overlooked what life truly has to offer, Life…..

He may not of realized how much he has changed my life after these moments. His presents, family, and energy alone have brought my soul into another paradigm. A paradigm I never knew existed, and now I am truly grateful for the energy, mind, body, and soul he has changed inside of me. It is sad to say he is no longer with us, but instead of mourning in his death, I will celebrate his life for as long as I live…

When it comes down to it, the only guarantee we all share is that we all die. What are you going to leave behind in this world for the physical world to remember? With Dante Pastrana, he showed the world that even during the hard times, there is always time for a smile and to live in happiness. Thank you for inspiring me my brother. No matter what, I am still and will always be connected to you my brother. I know you are off into a better place and I will live through your positive, happy, and uplifting spirits each and every day. I love you.

dantecollageJay Isip #10stackstosuccess

www.10StacksToSuccess.com

www.JayIsip.com

3 Responses to “Dante Pastrana vs. The World – A Jay Isip Story”

  1. hey, awesome story man…… im glad your doing so well and ive had a lot of friends die in the past few yrs but this with dante has really did a number on me….its crazy. Im truly and honestly happy with the direction your taking your life man and im proud of you. In some way, even tho im a lot more f’d up then you, I feel like I had a small part in influencing your life to who u r now. We used to be super tight and I just wanna let u know that I truly valued them days as kids man, you were a good friend. Hopefully I was the same. Anyways, just wanted to say whats up, keep doing what your doing, and even tho when I see ya, I may not say it in so many words, but you are a really good guy man, and I wish u and your bro all the best outta life, you guys were awesome ppl to meet and get to know n im glad that our lives had crossed and some point. Cheers homie… NgK for life (HaHa!!)

    Like

    • hahaaa! NGK for life my man! Thank you for you kind words bro, they mean a lot to me. And yes you had a big influence of who I am today, and I am truly grateful for that, I would be decent at graffiti if it wasn’t for you, and you guys were older than me and at the time showed me a lot from your experience in life.Trust me, we had a ton of memories together and I will always remember and cherish them because they were always funny times, and all we did was joke around. Everyone we encounter, even just speak with, or run into has an effect to who we are today. It’s up to us to make them memorable, and take advantage of the scenarios to create a positive outlook on the situation. NGK was probably the coolest thing I have been a part of, you guys taught me a lot in life, no doubt about it…

      Like

  2. Kiera Foster Says:

    Beautiful story! It brings tears running down my face. You were a true blessing to Dante! I remember that same night at the meadowlands fair he was so happy to give you that hug! Again thank you for your blessings on Dante. Dante truly is an inspiration to all of us!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

